Introducing Bonnie, owner of STUFFellaneous and creator of postcards

Blonde ProfileHello! My name is Bonnie Arriola. Iʼm the face (brains & braun-ha ha) behind STUFFellaneous. After a cross-country move (Ohio to Idaho), it became necessary to make an employment change. I wasnʼt able to find the same work in my new, very small town that Iʼd done for over eight years in the bustling metropolis Iʼd previously called
home.

While in the process of getting everyone settled, I was so very lonely and missed my
friends and family. I spent many a Sunday afternoon sitting on the front porch writing
postcards that Iʼd gathered along the way. Sadly, no one but my mother were very
regular in writing replies. She wrote letters; claiming that she couldnʼt find any
postcards anywhere.

Eager to get someone to send me postcards I stumbled upon Postcrossing.com and
Swap-bot.com. Talk about heaven! Postcrossing enabled me to share beautiful views
of Idaho as well as receive sundry cards from places unknown. Swap-bot gave me idea
and inspiration to begin designing postcards. (Something Iʼd never thought of.)

After several swaps and positive feedback, I took a leap into designing postcards I could
sell in my Etsy shop.  I have no artistic training whatsoever (unless Youtube counts). I just got hooked on doing artsy stuff. (Perhaps more details in future posts.)

Here is how the magic begins. First, I grab a 4×6” index card as my base. The lined side is where I note the products that are used; simply for my own reference. It helps me know what brand of papers and where I purchased them. I also started to do that as a bit of a record or journal of what Iʼve made. (Iʼd gotten these index cards at a garage sale years ago-finally found a use for them.)

Magic drawer

Magic drawer

Next, I consult the drawer oʼ paper. (Little known secret: my dresser is full of craft supplies rather than clothes. Those are in the closet. Papers are fun, interesting, and
donʼt require laundering and are never the wrong size!)

Then begins the mess. Cutting, pasting, ripping, placing, removing, trying something else. Sometimes I have a plan in mind and other times I have no clue what Iʼm doing. Some creations can be completed in one sitting. Others need time to marinate before I can find their full flavor or beauty.

I know that I have a lot to learn. (In fact, a real artist recently shared with me that you
can get a better image if you start with a large piece of art that will be scanned and
printed as a smaller image.) But I am loving this process. Creating has brought peace
to my life and given me something to look forward to besides the daily grind. And
hopefully, creating postcards will one day become my daily grind!

Over Astrid

Duizendpoot, freelance tekstschrijver & redacteur & projectleider, wannabe schrijver van niet een maar twee boeken, fanatiek lezer, eigenaar webshop in kaarten Cardcetera, eigenaar tekstbureau Flytande, vrouw, zus, dochter, vriendin, hobby kok, dol op post, levensgenieter, hardloopster. Al deze onderwerpen komen (uiteindelijk) vast aan bod in een of meerdere blog berichten.
Dit bericht werd geplaatst in Achtergrondinformatie, Bonnie, Leuke tips, Writers en getagged met , , , , , . Maak dit favoriet permalink.

Geef een reactie

